Ternopil State Medical University was established in the city of Ternopil on 12th April 1957 . After the 2nd World War from the ruins, by the orders of the Ukrainian government, the university was established and named as Ternopil Medical Institute.

The institute was named after Ivan Horbachevsky to honor his contribution to the field of medicine, primarily bio-chemistry on 1st July 1992. The institute was honored with the status of a State Medical Academy and named as I. Horbachevsky Ternopil State Medical Academy on 30th December 1997.

The institution was accredited with the title of State Medical University on 17th November 2004 and began to popularly known as I.H.Ternopil State Medical University.

From the Ukrainian government, TSMA received the 4th level of accreditation and it is counted among the premier medical universities of Ukraine. Over 1500 students from almost 50 different countries are enrolled in the university currently.